Boomaga – Thing of UNDISCOVERED GENIUS

June 29, 2009

Auto-Tune is Nothing to Be Ashamed of

Filed under: Entertainment — Tags: , , , , , — boomaga @ 11:49 pm

From an interview with Dr. Andy Hildebrand, head of Antares and co-inventor of “Auto-Tune,” who came to the audio industry after doing geological work for Exxon:

Interviewer:   Yesterday, I posted on my Facebook profile ‘I’m interviewing the inventor of Auto-Tune tomorrow’ and the only comments on my update were people saying, ‘Can you ask him why he ruined music?’

Dr. Hildebrand:    I just give people a tool. I don’t tell them how to use it. …  It’s as if I’d invented the automobile and was blamed for people causing car crashes.

read the rest of the interview at: Matson on Music | Inventor of Auto-Tune: “I’m innocent!” | Seattle Times Newspaper

Auto-Tune the way it SHOULD be used

Auto-Tune the way it SHOULD be used

Undeservedly, the reputation of a perfectly fine tool is ruined…  between the hiphop/dance genre abusers and the audiophile snobs, Autotune is misunderstood and unfairly maligned.

I’ve been using Antares Auto-Tune software on tracks for years – NEVER in a “Cher / T-Pain” way..    only to nudge a note here or there, nothing you would ever notice (believe me, if you NOTICE tuning on a vocal or an instrument, it was badly done).   Antares never meant for it to be used as a vocoder –  it’s meant to be invisible.   Now their flagship product’s trade-name, which represents at least one patent, I’m sure,  is equated with a style of hiphop that’s jumped the shark, and their unrelated trade-name is taking abuse.   They need to change the name of the studio tool, and just let “Auto-Tune” be a a spin-off vocoder-type tool.

Antares should let the REAL  ‘Autotune’ die an ignominious death, let it burn like disco records in the night…   then rename it “AT-X1” or something and continue to develop it, and I’ll hide it in my plugins folder.

Hey, look, there’s a time and place for warts-and-all, but between 1st-take energy and re-take fatigue,  why not ever-so-gently finesse a bass note here, nudge a background-voc there,… NO one hears my subtle edits, I’m a f*cking tuning NINJA, you’d never know I was there… besides,  the deadline is next week, and those in-tune notes fit themselves in the mix effortlessly.

And the vocalist loves to hear : “No, I didn’t touch it, that was all you!  You were just ON !”

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.